## MIZORAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

## **BULLETIN PART II**

(General information relating to Legislative and other matters)

No. 136

Monday, May 24, 1982

## PROGRAMME REGARDING OATH/AFFIRMATION BY MEMBERS

- 1. Members are informed that as provided in section 11of the Govt. of Union Territories Act, 1963 and in pursuance of the order of the Lt. Governor dated May 20, 1982 in this regards, every member shall, before taking his seat, make and subscribe before the person appointed in that behalf by the Lt. Governor, and oath or affirmation according to the form set out for the purpose.
- 2. In the last by-election held on May 19, 1982 in four constituencies, the following gentleman have been duly elected and these gentlemen shall make and subscribe before the Hon'ble Speaker an oath or affirmation at the first sitting of the Ninth and Emergent Session of the Third Mizoram Legislative Assembly which is scheduled to commence on May 26, 1982 at 10:30 A.M.
- 3. In this connection the following procedure will be followed:-
  - (i) Members including the newly elected members will assembly in the Assembly Hall by 10:30 A.M.

- (ii) The proceedings will begin with the Hon'ble Speaker in the Chair at the appointed time.
- (iii) The newly elected members will make and subscribe oath or affirmation in the following order:-
  - (a) Pu Lalnghenga
  - (b) Pu J.H. Lianchungnunga
  - (c) Pu R. Zadinga
  - (d) Pu C. Pahlira
- (iv) On the name of a member being called by an officer of the House, the member will proceed to the side of Secretary's table where a copy of the form of oath or affirmation (in Mizo or in English as may be desired) will be handed over to him.
- (v) The member will face the chair and make the oath or affirmation.
- (vi) The member then goes up to and shakes hands with the Hon'ble Speaker and then passes behind the chair to the other side of the Secretary's table where he signs the Roll of Members.
- (vii) The Speaker then gives the member permission to take his seat in the House. Thereafter the member is conducted by the Marshall to his seat.

J. MALSAWMA,

Secretary